I Didn’t Become A Teacher

This. Exactly this.

recite-k4vgo6

I didn’t become a teacher so I could test my students into submission.  So I could talk about them as data points and chart their growth on a spreadsheet.

I didn’t become a teacher so that I could make students cry.  Or make them smile on command, make them sit still, make them schedule their breaks to my own benefit.  Punish them into submission while I wondered why they seemed so disengaged.

I didn’t become a teacher so I could tell children which books they couldn’t read, where they couldn’t sit, and who they couldn’t work with.

I became a teacher so that I could help students make their voice louder.  Help students believe more in themselves.  Help students grow, learn, and thrive.

I became a teacher to help students find the guts to say, “This is what I need, this is what I want.”

I became a teacher not to…

View original post 134 more words

About Heather Poland (ateachersperspective)

I am a public school teacher who cares deeply about education
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

